Jim Campbell Awards

How to nominate someone. Previous recipients

These awards are to recognise personal excellence in Primary or Secondary classroom teaching and support given to others in enhancing their classroom teaching.

Nominations are called for these awards which recognise excellence in mathematics teaching. They are presented biennially at the NZAMT Conference in September/October.

The criteria for these awards are:

  1. excellence in the teaching of mathematics in the classroom at a particular school;

  2. contribution and support to mathematics teaching at other schools in the district and/or contribution to mathematics teaching throughout New Zealand; and

  3. support of a local mathematics association or mathematics group.

Teachers from primary, intermediate and secondary schools may be nominated. Nominations on the official form are to be made initially by a teacher, principal or other mathematics educator. Three referee statements on the official forms are required, one of which must be from a person not teaching at the same school. It is the nominator’s responsibility to request the appropriate forms and distribute them.

2019 Recipients

Anet Conroy

Elizabeth Sneddon

Francis Leslie-Ellis

Marion Steel

Jo Patrick

Sue Scott

2017 Recipients

Mandy Attard

Nicola Gibson

Kim Madden

Mike van Woerkom

Subash Chandar K

Melissa Jackson

Stephen McConnachie

Anne Gardner

Helen Jermy

Richard Ramsay

Karen Gibbs

Claire Laverty

Phil Truesdale

2015 Recipients

Ainslie Anderson

Jane Gray

Annmarie Simpson

Tony Carey

Mitchell Howard

Linda van Milligan

Jeanette Chapman

Ann Leach

Barbara Wallis

Kiri Dillon

Grant Ritchie

2013 Recipients

Lynne Bull

Brian Law

Michelle Dalrymple

Debra Leong

Anne Marie Denny

Anna Martin

Andrew Kilham

Joanna McHardy

2011 Recipients

Louise Addison

Barry Thomas

Rory Barrett

Anne Griffiths

John Major

2009 Recipients

Lyn Brassington

Peter Newall

Anna Brookie

David Phillips

Lauris Crook

Catherine Udy-Bothwell

Jennifer Hudson

2007 Recipients

Bethan De Malmanche

Kerry Lloyd

Kathy Paterson

Thomas Sidebotham

Pre 2000 Recipients

Robin Staples - 1993

Please bear with us as we search the archives for recipients previous to 2007. If you received a Jim Campbell award or know of someone who did, please let us know.