Jim Campbell

These awards are to recognise personal excellence in Primary or Secondary classroom teaching and support given to others in enhancing their classroom teaching.

Nominations are called for these awards which recognise excellence in mathematics teaching. They are presented biennially at the NZAMT Conference in September/October.

The criteria for these awards are:

  1. excellence in the teaching of mathematics in the classroom at a particular school;
  2. contribution and support to mathematics teaching at other schools in the district and/or contribution to mathematics teaching throughout New Zealand; and
  3. support of a local mathematics association or mathematics group.

Teachers from primary, intermediate and secondary schools may be nominated. Nominations on the official form are to be made initially by a teacher, principal or other mathematics educator. Three referee statements on the official forms are required, one of which must be from a person not teaching at the same school. It is the nominator’s responsibility to request the appropriate forms and distribute them.

or requested by email from This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nominations to: The Secretary NZAMT, Box 26-582, Epsom, Auckland
Fax (09) 623 8914

View Articles ...

Jim Campbell Award for Excellence in Teaching Recent Winners

 Year Winner
2017 Anne Gardner, Claire Laverty, Helen Jermy, Karen Gibbs, Kim Madden, Mandy Attard, Melissa Jackson, Mike van Woerkom, Nicola Gibson, Phil Truesdale, Richard Ramsey, Stephen McConnachie, Subash Chandar K
2015 Ainslie Anderson, Ann Leach, Annmarie Simpson, Barbara Wallis, Grant Ritchie, Jane Gray, Jeanette Chapman, Kiri Dillon, Linda van Milligan, Mitchell Howard, Tony Carey


Andrew Kilham, Anna Martin, Anne Marie Denny, Brian Law, Debra Leong, Joanna McHardy, Lynne Bull, Michelle Dalrymple
2011 Rory Barrett, Louise Addison, John Major, Barry Thomas, Anne Griffiths
2009 Anna Brookie, David Phillips, Lauris Crook, Peter Newall, Catherine Udy-Bothwell, Jennifer Hudson, Lyn Brasington
2007 Kerry Lloyd, Bethan De Malmanche, Kathy Paterson, Thomas Sidebotham